Still Seeking

Happy New Year!

Still seeking light. And still hopeful,

in more ways than just a bright, well lit work space of course.

However,

I decided to share the Joy Studio portion and progress on our big project, to start out the blog year.

If you’ve been following us in the past two years you may remember that as we outgrew our work space it was necessary to rent additional office and Etsy shop storage areas. This was working out nicely until our shop managers MOVED! So, everything came back to the home studio causing quite the challenge in 2016.

Here’s the timeline in a photo nutshell.

Moved From The Rental
Moved From The Rental
Dinning Room Designated for Drawing
Dinning Room Designated for Drawing
Made A Plan for On Site Studio
Made A Plan for On Site Studio

With the former home studio now full of fabric, office and Etsy shop we (I) decided to build on our home site. A scary project but a long time dream that I never thought would be realized. Still waiting but it’s looking like in 2017, it may really happen!

   •

Broke Ground Early July
Broke Ground Early July
Poured Foundation
Poured Foundation
Floor Went On
Floor Went On
Walls Went Up
Walls Went Up
Roof Went On
Roof Went On
Wrapped While Waiting for Windows
Wrapped While Waiting for Windows

We were told the wait for windows would be five weeks! Then they came, in a big storm. Windows were wrong. It was then we discovered that two of the four walls were also, wrong. So, they came down and we waited for windows. And waited. And waited. It would be another five weeks. Second try, they were wrong again. Windows held up the studio project until December.

Windows Deliver During A Storm
Windows Deliver During A Storm
Walls Torn Down
Walls Torn Down
Wait for Walls & Windows
Wait for Walls & Windows

We kept going luckily, wrapping walls, running wires and having HVAC installed.

Electric And Furnace Installed
Electric And Furnace Installed
Shake Siding
Shake Siding

We couldn’t leave out a fireplace of course. Built by family and friends. Nice!

Stone Fireplace
Stone Fireplace
Insulated
Insulated

As the new Joy Studio sits now, we are fully insulated and with the correct windows.

I am starting the new year working in the designated drawing station in the dinning room at my dad’s drawing table. I’m feeling snug and . . . GRATEFUL.

joystudiomover
Dad’s Table & Palette Tin

Looking forward to 2017 and I hope you feel the same.

&

I almost forgot! We are having a FABRIC special!!

Use Code: january2017 for 25% off at,

Great Joy Studio Etsy Shop

Through January.

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

8 thoughts on “Still Seeking

  1. Oh Janet, how exciting. It looks so well built.
    It looks large! I love it – so perfect
    Today we have a rainy day here, I am making my own sunshine.
    The last few months of 2016 were so heart breaking for me. My mom and my beloved Pierro are no longer with me. I am healing,
    Thank you for the special package. I already have plans for this terrific pile of beauty.
    Thank you so much for being so inspiring and sharing all of that with ME

    1. Hi Rosemary. Yes, I have been thinking of you during this sad time. I certainly understand. We had a tough year also that I have not been able to share. 2016 ended much better for us than it began. So, I’m pushing through while trying to focus on the work and projects that make me happy and comforted. Hang in there. God’s blessings.

  2. When I received your latest blog, I decided it was finally time to write and ask a question that I have had for a very long time.

    I am a huge fan of all “collections” you have designed over the years and think you are one of the best colorists out there. My all-time favorite is your Animal Alphabet fabric which I have been using since the days you were designing for South Sea Imports. I have probably made at least 6 quilts over the years and always try to keep several panels on hand whenever another baby gift is needed – attached is a copy of one of them. I attended a talk at an area quilt shop in November put on by the President of Quilting Treasures and the Sales Rep for that store – I believe his name is Kevin Driscoll (hopefully my memory has served me) – I talked to him afterwards and told him how much I enjoyed your designs and he encouraged me to write to you and thought you would answer as he knew you personally.

    My question: Have you ever considered a companion book for this material – listing all the various articles contained in each and every block? I think it would be a great learning tool for the recipient to be given along with the finished quilt, and hopefully it would turn into a money-maker for you. I know, over the years, I seem to find another “B” item or “D” item that I may have missed before as an example.

    Thank you for your time and I certainly do appreciate your work in the past, present and look forward to the future, Liz Carty

    >

    1. Hello! And thank you for writing. It is great to know your thoughts about the art and fabric collections. I would enjoy seeing your work as well but I’m not seeing the attachment. Yes, Kevin is correct. A very good guy. I missed seeing him at the last Quilt Market. I’m very glad he encouraged you to write. It is always helpful to hear feedback and a pleasure to know the art is connecting to the creators using the fabric. Yes, I thought Hungry Animal Alphabet would make a great companion book as well but convincing a publisher is a little more challenging. Thank you Liz.

  3. I’m in no immediate rush for an answer, but this still appears in my “draft” file and doesn’t indicate it was ever sent to you.

    Thank you, Liz Carty

    > Begin forwarded message: > > From: mcarty > Subject: Re: [New post] Still Seeking > Date: January 2, 2017 at 2:50:41 PM EST > To: Joy Studio > > When I received your latest blog, I decided it was finally time to write and ask a question that I have had for a very long time. > > I am a huge fan of all “collections” you have designed over the years and think you are one of the best colorists out there. My all-time favorite is your Animal Alphabet fabric which I have been using since the days you were designing for South Sea Imports. I have probably made at least 6 quilts over the years and always try to keep several panels on hand whenever another baby gift is needed – attached is a copy of one of them. I attended a talk at an area quilt shop in November put on by the President of Quilting Treasures and the Sales Rep for that store – I believe his name is Kevin Driscoll (hopefully my memory has served me) – I talked to him afterwards and told him how much I enjoyed your designs and he encouraged me to write to you and thought you would answer as he knew you personally. > > My question: Have you ever considered a companion book for this material – listing all the various articles contained in each and every block? I think it would be a great learning tool for the recipient to be given along with the finished quilt, and hopefully it would turn into a money-maker for you. I know, over the years, I seem to find another “B” item or “D” item that I may have missed before as an example. > > Thank you for your time and I certainly do appreciate your work in the past, present and look forward to the future, > Liz Carty > > >>

Comments are closed.